The main dream analysis is at the following link:

https://dailstrug.wordpress.com/2014/07/20/the-dream-of-the-malaysian-jet-liner/

The manifest content of a dream tempts us to explore the unconscious meanings of the images we imagine. We assume that every image or thought in the manifest dream conceals another, hidden thought.

A recent dream I had contains a reference to “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” and to the city of Amsterdam.

I am in the city of Amsterdam in The Netherlands. It is evening (“The long day’s task is done.”). I am watching a performance of The Merchant of Venice by Shakespeare that is being performed in the streets of the city. I am enthralled. The affect throughout the dream is one of elation. I don’t understand the dialogue, but I am able to follow the action. There is incidental music, as in A Midsummer Night’s Dream composed by Felix Mendelssohn. I am enchanted by the music. I know I have heard it before, but I am tormented by the thought that I can’t identify it. There is a procession through one of Amsterdam’s canals, which ends the performance. I find this enchanting. After the performance I go to a bar. An attractive Dutch serving girl approaches me. I say, “English.” She responds in Dutch, then walks off. She has another server (female) who speaks English take my order. I order a bottle of beer, Heineken, a Dutch beer. After I finish the beer I walk through the streets of Amsterdam and again experience enchantment and elation. I think, “My sister has to visit Amsterdam!! It’s beautiful.”

Perhaps the reference to “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” refers not to the Mendelssohn incidental music but to some other music.  Perhaps the reference to Amsterdam conceals thoughts about another city.

I am reminded of Scene 1 of the third act of Wagner’s opera, Die Meistersinger von Nuremberg.  As morning dawns, Hans Sachs is reading a large book. Lost in thought, he does not respond as David returns from delivering Beckmesser’s shoes. David finally manages to attract his master’s attention, and they discuss the upcoming festivities – it is St. John’s day, Hans Sachs’ name day (June 21, Midsummer Day)! David recites his verses for Sachs, and leaves to prepare for the festival. Alone, Sachs ponders last night’s riot. “Madness! Madness! Everywhere madness!” (Wahn! Wahn! Überall Wahn!) His attempt to prevent an elopement [note the theme of marriage] had ended in shocking violence. Nevertheless, he is resolved to make madness work for him today.

Madness! Madness! Everywhere, madness!
Whenever I look in the archives of the
city and of the world,
to look for the reason behind
why people strive to argue
in useless results
for this insanity?
What are they to gain from this:
in fits of struggle
they hunt for it
and do not hear their own pain
especially when it rips into their own flesh,
joy’s own embrace!
Who can name it?
It’s simply the same old craziness,
without it ever happening
in spite of itself!
It pauses. And then with sleep acquires a
new strength:
suddenly awakens
then who can become master of it?
In peace, truth rests
in work and in honesty
here, laying in the heart of Germany
my beloved Nurenberg?
But late one evening,
an unfortunate
incident occurred,
by youthful hot-bloodedness,
a man does not heed reason:
a shoe maker in his shop
begins the old madness again:
suddenly is streets and alleys
a raging argument begins,
man, women, child….everyone joins
all are crazed and blinded by it;
and if the insanity loses power
the argument begins to shower on all
with rocks, garbage, and anything else
the wrath begins to smoother.
God knows what happened!
An impish spell happened upon all:
a glowworm could not find his mate;
it was what aroused this wrath.
The charm: Midsummer night’s eve!
But now has dawned Midsummer day!
Let’s see, then, what Hans Sachs can do
to turn the madness his own way,
to become a more noble work:
for let it not rest in peace
even here in Nurenberg,
to use it to such an aim
and seldom by the mob’s projected goal
and never without trickery effected.

I propose that that the reference to Amsterdam in the manifest dream is a veiled reference to the city of Nuremberg, which I associated with the Nuremberg war crimes tribunal.  The Nuremberg trials were a series of military tribunals, held by the Allied forces after World War II, most notable for the prosecution of prominent members of the political, military, and economic leadership of Nazi Germany. The trials were held in the city of Nuremberg, Germany.  (“My sister has to visit Amsterdam” — or “My sister has to visit Nuremberg”  — i.e., my sister should be tried for war crimes?)

I further propose that the thoughts about the Nuremberg war crimes tribunal in the dream correspond to thoughts about another legal tribunal, the D.C. Court of Appeals, in The Dream of Milton’s Successor.

