The dinner party was memorable for its guest list, which

included me, a stripper and Ben’s father, a straitlaced dentist!

When suddenly there was a moment of silence at the

table, I looked up at Dr. Shirazi who was staring

at me point blank: that icy glassy look of his

which disconcerted me. I struggled to say something. Ben’s father

intimidated me. I had nothing to add to the conversation,

nothing to throw into the muddy waters between us. I

felt as exposed as a stranded lamb. Ben was sitting

to my left, Ben’s mother opposite us, beside Dr. Shirazi.

___________________________________________________

Paraphrases from the article “My Bizarre Dinner Party with Donald Trump, Roy Cohn and Estee Lauder” by Peter Manso and the novel Call Me by Your Name by André Aciman.

