10:11am

Hey Garry how are you? when you’re around, let me know
I’m here
I wanted to ask you some questions about the 60s. Well about your time growing up through pivotal times.
Sure.
Information is so abundant now. But what ideas and notions were you surrounded by growing up as a kid. As far as you can remember, what were the things that your parents, the times and friends, what did they tell you that was important. The things that painted a picture of what life was all about and what would it bring.
As for my parents, their minds were formed in an earlier generation. The depression and the war years. What stands out in my mind was the Vietnam War. All the protests. The civil rights movement. The country was in turmoil in the late sixties. People asked questions like, “Do you think there’s going to be a revolutiuon?” People actually wondered about that. It seems strange today. People don’t talk about revolution. Then there was the cold war. The constant threat of annihilation. We used to have air raid drills in school. We would all gather together in the hallways in the school — as if that would offer protection in the event of a nuclear attack!! People talked about war with Russia and war with China. It seemed that the U.S. in the 1960s had a lot more in common with the world of the 1940s than it did with the world of today. The idea of computers were big. They were very rudimentary then. But everybody talked about how they would become more and more sophisticated in the years ahead. In spite of all the problems it seemed to me that the world of the 1960s was a much more optimistic world than it is today. Or maybe that was just because I was young then.
Did you ever serve in the military ?
No. I turned 18 in December 1971. The Vietnam War ended in January 1973.
And you watched the moon landing on tv ?
I did. I wasn’t really into it. Throughout the 60s the space program was going on. In the beginning I was really excited. But after years of space shot, I kinda grew tired of it.
That was July 1969. I was 15 years old.
Is there anything books or people say today about history, anything that isn’t true or is slightly exaggerated about the periods you have lived in ?
My only thought about that is that people today don’t understand the excitement of that era. Everything seemed so much more exciting than people portray it today. But again, maybe because I was young then and I had the subjective experience that life was more exciting back then.
How old are you, Joey?
25
You are 62 right ? If I did the math correctly
Yeah. 62
Here’s a great TV series about life in 1976.

Tales of the City Part 1 | Chapter 1
A novel by Armistead Maupin about life in San Francisco in the mid 1970’s, turned mini series by PBS (origianly) then as the storys went on, was later picked…
youtube.com
You look younger and thanks for the link. I’ll check that out. I also have to ask, did you yourself ever get into the whole psychedelic movement and experimentation?
Nope. Never got into that. I was a nerd. Besides I was only 15 in 1969.
What kind of things got you excited ?
I live inside my head. I’m a loner. I played the piano and listened to classical music. Music gets me excited.
I totally relate to the living inside the head thing. I have tried to get away from that frame of mind. But it’s so hard to escape something like that. I remember you saying you were a loner. But why does it have to be that way ? You were on experience project, you have your sister, some other family ? Friends from school ?
The technical explanation: When the needs of the child are not met by the parents (e.g. dependency needs and the need for affirmative interactions) a pathological turning away from external reality takes place. Instead of actual exchange with others, fantasised, private presences are established, the so-called internal objects. To these internal objects the child relates in fantasised connections, the internal object relations.
So that’s what happening to people like you and me ?
That was a really well informed explanation by the way. How did you gain that knowledge ?
I got that from WIkpedioa.
So what is all of that called in a nutshell ?
It’s Fairbain’s theories:
Ronald Fairbairn – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
William Ronald Dodds Fairbairn (/ˈfɛrbɛrn/) FRSE (11 August 1889 – 31 December 1964) was a Scottish psychiatrist, psychoanalyst and a central figure in the development of the object relations theory of psychoanalysis.
en.wikipedia.org
Chat Conversation End
Type a message…
 
