I met with a job counselor yesterday at the D.C. Voc Rehab Services Administration.  I advised her about my disability.  She said it was fine if I discussed the following issues with a prospective employer.  Would you hire me?  How would you accommodate me?

REQUEST OF GARY FREEDMAN FOR REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION PURSUANT TO THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT

1. NATURE OF DISABILITY

1.  I am a disabled American who is entitled under The Americans With Disabilities Act to reasonable accommodation  in the workplace.

2.  I have been continuously disabled and unemployed since October 29, 1991.

3.  I have been diagnosed with paranoid mental illness including the specific diagnoses of Paranoid (Delusional) Disorder and Paranoid Schizophrenia.    Medication has not ameliorated my symptoms.  See Murphy v. United Parcel Service, Inc. 527 U.S. 516 (1999 ).

2. TYPICAL PROBLEMS ENCOUNTERED IN THE WORKPLACE

1.  I arouse fears that I may become violent in the workplace.  Coworkers tend to be afraid of me.  See Freedman v. D.C. Dept. Human Rights, D.C.C.A. no. 96-CV-961 (Sept. 1, 1998).

2.  Supervisors tend to fear that I may carry out a mass homicidal assault on workplace premises.  See Freedman v. D.C. Dept. Human Rights.

3.  Coworkers tend to develop genuine and reasonable  fears that I might become armed and extremely dangerous in the workplace.  See Freedman v. D.C. Dept. Human Rights.

4.  My behavior can become bizarre, disruptive and violent.  See Freedman v. D.C. Dept. Human Rights.

5.  My behavior can become disruptive for an entire firm.  See Freedman v. D.C. Dept. Human Rights.

6.  I require work that ensures total isolation from other employees.  See Freedman v. D.C. Dept. Human Rights.

7.  I am unable to function in a group setting.  See Freedman v. D.C. Dept. Human Rights.

8.  I am unable to communicate with my peers.  See Freedman v. D.C. Dept. Human Rights.

9.  I believe I am able to pick up threatening signals from coworkers (ideas of reference).  See Freedman v. D.C. Dept. Human Rights.

I request accommodation that will mitigate the effects of my disorder in the workplace.

