Ms. Amanpour:

May I share with you an unusual novel of Jewish interest that I have recently completed? It is a book titled The Emerald Archive, about a Jewish-Iranian emigre family living in Manhattan. The book is actually a theme and variations. It opens with a three-page prose “theme” that summarizes the plot of the entire book. The remaining 480 pages are a series of poems that function as a collection of variations on the theme. The story unfolds through the poems. The final page, in prose, ties together the themes of the book.

The major characters of my book include a high-earning dental surgeon and his depressive wife, a gay librarian, an accounting student, a stripper, a concert pianist and a Park Avenue psychoanalyst. There are numerous minor characters.

A major inspiration for the structure of my book was the novel As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner. The text of the book is in the attachment to this email.

Best regards,

Gary Freedman
Washington, DC

