I have been court ordered to receive mental health treatment.

The treatment I receive falls short of appropriate professional standards.

I plan to file a motion with D.C. Superior Court: RESPONDENT’S MOTION TO ENFORCE CIVIL PROTECTION ORDER.

I will ask the court to enforce the order by requiring the District Government to locate appropriate mental health treatment for me.  Let the District put its money where it’s mouth is!!

On Friday my therapist talked about his upcoming trip to Hawaii–he’s doing a game in Maui — “It’s a 12-hour flight!” He talked about being stuck in Hartford during January’s blizzard (a reference to my being stuck in therapy, perhaps?). He talked about his days as a lifeguard in Atlantic City when he was young–he worked at North Carolina Avenue in front of Haddon Hall (“I remember the Zaberer’s sign on the billboard”). He talked about his aunt who lived in Miami — “she had a cabana at the Fontainebleau.”

TO CASE MANAGER:

I talked to my therapist about the fact that he falls asleep when I’m with him.  He said he was unaware of that.  He was totally nonchalant about it.

When I confronted him about working on a Georgetown Hoyas document when I was talking to him he said:  “You had my full attention.”

He just doesn’t seem to process what I tell him.  I don’t know what to do.  Therapy with him is subpar.

Gary Freedman

TO CASE MANAGER:

I had a session with my therapist this afternoon.  He fell asleep several times during the session.  At one point I told him an extended anecdote–he fell asleep and didn’t hear a word I said.  When I asked him what he thought about what I had just said, he said, “Why are you telling me this now?”  It was clear that he hadn’t heard anything I said.  He was unable to comment on what I said and his eyes were closed the whole time I was telling him the anecdote.

What should I do?

Gary Freedman
202 362 7064

TO CASE MANAGER:


I had a session with my therapist this afternoon (10/18/2016).  He fell asleep while I was talking to him.  He slept for about 5 minutes.  I am concerned about this.  As you know I have been ordered by DC Superior Court to be in therapy.  Arguably, this therapist’s behavior violates the court order.

Gary Freedman
202 362 7064

