Upon retiring on the evening of February 13, 2017 I had the following dream:

I have decided to sit in on an advanced chemistry class at Penn State.  I listen to the teacher and am unable to follow him.  I have no idea what he is talking about.  The other students are able to follow the lecture and I am envious of them.  The teacher draws diagrams on the blackboard.  The diagrams look like musical notation.  I am intrigued that he is able to transform chemical structures into music.  When the class ends I walk outside onto the Penn State campus.  None of the buildings look familiar.  I am lost.  Throughout the dream, the affects of being intrigued (by the chemistry teacher) and of distress at being lost (intellectually and physically) predominate.  I also experience intense envy of the students and teacher — envy of their superior knowledge.

The only event I can relate this dream to is that next week, on February 21, 2017 I have a routine appointment to have a medical check-up at GW.  My doctor was a chemistry major in college.  He graduated from Penn State (Hershey!!) medical school.

An aspect of the manifest dream is interesting.  The theme of being lost is overdetermined.  I am lost (intellectually) in the advanced chemistry class.  Then when I walk outside I am lost once again physically.

February 13 is the anniversary of Wagner’s death. I don’t think that influenced the dream. I dream about musical issues all the time. But I was in fact thinking about the anniversary of Antonin Scalia’s death on February 13, 2016. That links the academic setting in the manifest dream to feelings in law school. Last night I spoke to my sister and she was talking about Felix Frankfurter at Harvard Law School.

