In the years 2011 to 2013 I was in psychotherapy with a psychiatry resident who had a problem with my “know it all” attitude.   He criticized a writing I had prepared that summarized my personality problems as I saw them. The resident accused me of sabotaging my therapy. He said the writing was a sign of my resistance.

I recently came across a paper written by a psychoanalyst that described a patient of his as follows: “She used manic defenses to be always correct and better than her analyst. Any interpretations I made, she had already thought of. This was to prevent the breakdown of her omnipotence and to avoid the loss of her fragile, idealized object.”

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3330553/

In psychoanalysis, the analyst analyzes the patient’s behavior.  Psychiatry residents simply criticize the patient’s behavior.

