Watching the James Comey testimony I was struck by the seeming fact that Comey is struggling with trauma and that some of his responses to Senate questions paralleled his emotional response to earlier trauma. It was as if he was replaying issues from childhood.

I was particularly struck by the following. At one point Senator Dianne Feinstein said: “But why didn’t you stop and say, ‘Mr. President, this is wrong – I cannot discuss that with you’?”  Comey replied: “Maybe if I were stronger, I would have.  I was so stunned by the conversation that I just took it in.   And the only thing I could think to say ’cause I was playing in my mind – ’cause I could remember every word he saidI was playing in my mind, what should my response be?”

Comey seems to be describing a state of being emotionally frozen in response to a profound threat.

I recalled reading the following about the teenage Comey:

http://www.thedailybeast.com/the-gunman-the-rapist-the-woodsman-and-young-jim-comey

