Mr. Cox’s paper:

Projective Identification in the Analytic Relationship: Phantasy, or the Symbiotic Dance of the Eloi and the Morlock’s?

https://www.academia.edu/8966812/Projective_identification_in_the_analytic_relationship_Phantasy_or_the_symbiotic_dance_of_the_Eloi_and_the_Morlock_s

Thank you so much for responding, Mr. Cox!!

Gary Freedman
Washington, DC

—–Original Message—–
From: Philip Cox
To: Gary Freedman
Sent: Tue, Aug 1, 2017 5:00 pm
Subject: Re: the time machine

Hi Gary,

Good to hear from you. I hadn’t realised until recently that Wells lived and wrote the book near my home, and a mile from where I was born (Richmond, Surrey).

From a psychotherapy perspective, I’m intrigued at the idea of Wells using the Time Machine as a way to distance himself from the subject of his writings – that would work well as an analytic interpretation a kind of defence from difficult material. It selves also as a lovely literary device.

The idea of transference in therapy is that we literally we jump across time, or more ot the point back in time, so I’ll give that part of the letter more thought.

I’ve got a final exam in 3 1/2 weeks, so hoping that you are ok with this, I’ll come to you soon after then.

I’m seeing my psychotherapist tomorrow and I’m tempted to ask if she’d read a 7 page letter from me – did yours? That I would love to know!

Might interest you to know that from some of my work I’m presenting a workshop around the changing medical practices here re informed consent. Funny how the these different areas overlap. It’s be amusing to use the Time Machine to swap for day, you be the therapist & I’ll do the lawyer thing!

Thanks for touching base – will get back to you.

Phil

From: Gary Freedman
Sent: 01 August 2017 21:20:35
To: eureka1@live.co.uk
Subject: the time machine

Mr. Cox:

I came across your paper on Projective Identification and Wells’ The Time Machine on the Internet. Back in the year 2000 I wrote a letter to my psychotherapist comparing The Time Machine and Heart of Darkness. I had psychoanalytical thoughts about both books. The letter is in the attachment. I’d love to hear any comments you have about my essay. I am a lawyer, by the way. Literature is simply an interest of mine.

Gary Freedman
Washington, DC

conrad and wells essay to dr shaffer

