A 1975 College of Communications alumnus has published a book made up of quotations from existing literature.

Gary Freedman recently published “Significant Moments,” a book made up from quotes from already published works.

Freedman used the termination from his job and the years that followed as inspiration for writing the book.

“I began to notice similar themes in books, themes that interested me, themes that I identified with,” said Freedman.  “In effect, the book serves as a kind of psychological memoir, highlighting my own identifications, associations and fantasies.”

Freedman said compiling the book was a process that took different directions, and time.

“Over those years I added quotations.  I added sections and rearranged sections,” said Freedman.  “The book kind of grew like a plant, with new branches emerging all the time.  The writing became more and more fluid over time.  I began to break up the large quotes with the insertion of words, phrases, and sentences.”

In addition, writing the book allowed Freedman to see how life can be paralleled by fiction.

“I am interested in how fictional literature matches real life situations.  If you read the book you will see that I show parallels between literature and historical events,” said Freedman.  “The book kind of blurs the distinction between reality and fantasy.  I use literature to elucidate historical events.”

“Significant Moments” is available on amazon.com online.

______________________

From: The Communicator — A publication for alumni and friends of the College of Communications at Penn State.  Summer 2013.  Page 54.