Upon retiring on the evening of August 29, 2012 I had the following dream:

I am in a television studio in mid-town Manhattan.  I have been chosen as a contestant in a TV quiz show.  My opposing contestant is Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg.  The topic is opera.  I think: “Wow.  Opera is the topic.  I actually have a chance at beating Ruth Bader Ginsburg.”  Jose Cabranes is present and is chatting with Justice Ginsburg.  Jose Cabranes is a judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit which sits in Manhattan.  Justice Ginsburg says to Judge Cabranes: “The last contestant answered every question correctly.  But then, he was a Columbia graduate.”  She laughs.  Justice Ginsburg tied for first place in her graduating class at Columbia Law School.  I leave the TV studio and walk outside onto the street.  I am unfamiliar with this section of Manhattan and I get lost walking the streets.  I am unable to make it back to the studio.  And so I missed my chance to compete against Justice Ginsburg.

______________________

Judge Cabranes had authored a court opinion that recognized a form of subtle job harassment known as “mobbing.”

Quiz Show was the name of a movie about the TV quiz show scandal concerning the show “Twenty One” from the 1950s.  Presumably, the theme of corruption was an issue in the latent content of the dream.  In the movie the contestants Herb Stempel and Charles Van Doren face each other in Twenty One, where the match comes down to a predetermined question regarding Marty, the 1955 winner of the Academy Award for Best Picture. Despite knowing the correct film, Stempel gives the wrong answer, allowing Van Doren to get a question he previously answered while in producer Enright’s offices; he provides the winning response.   Stempel figuratively “took a dive” by throwing the competition to Van Doren.

The name of Justice Ginsburg’s late husband was Martin Ginsburg, or Marty.

The 2012 Olympics had just finished on August 12, 2012.  One of the divers on the U.S. Olympic team was named Nick McCrory.  McCrory literally took a dive at the Olympics.  One of my law professors at American University was named Patrick F.J. Macrory who I had humiliated in a class presentation in the fall 1984 (another Olympics year).

Contestant Charles Van Doren was the son of Mark Van Doren, an English professor at Columbia University.

The name of the TV quiz show, “Twenty One” may have personal significance.  It is now 21 years since my job termination by the law firm of Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld, in October 1991.

The manifest dream image of the quiz show denotes the theme of competition.  The dream figure of Justice Ginsburg also denotes the theme of competition in that she graduated first place in her law school class.

After law school Justice Ginsburg had clerked for a judge who sat on the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York, Edmund Palmieri.  Judge Palmieri had earned his undergraduate and law degrees from Columbia University.  There may be a relationship between Judge Palmieri and Stanley R. Palombo, M.D., my former treating psychiatrist who was also a Columbia graduate.

Justice Ginsburg is an avid opera fan as am I.

The day of the dream I had listened to a recording of Arnold Schoenberg’s Gurrelieder, a cantata.  Whenever I listen to Gurrelieder I have the thought: “To think this thing was written by a poor Jewish kid from Leopoldstadt in Vienna.” (Leopoldstadt used to be the Jewish neighborhood in Vienna).  This perhaps suggests the theme of an unlikely person achieving world-wide fame, as I hoped to do in the manifest dream.